What happens if I mistakenly send a bad configuration to my devices?

What happens if I mistakenly send a bad configuration to my devices?

In the unfortunate event that you send settings to your devices that cause them to lose connectivity (such as disabling all of the ethernet ports, for example), the following will happen:
  1. Your device(s) will revert to their previous working configuration.
  2. The associated configuration task, found on the Activity page, will let you know that the config task failed and the devices reverted to the previous configuration.   
  3. An alert will be created to let you know that the configuration for the devices are "out of sync".  This means the configuration on the Cloud does not match the running configuration.
In order to fix an "out of sync" alert, you'll need to fix the configuration setting that is preventing the device from accessing the internet, and save the config again.
    • Related Articles

    • What happens when one of the Cloud controlled devices is reset to factory defaults?

      When a device is reset to factory defaults, it will attempt to re-register with your cloud.  This creates a warning-level "re-registration alert", which requires a member of the cloud to login and choose what to do with your device's config. The ...
    • Device Registration and Configuration

      Registration A new device can easily be added to a site by inputting (or scanning) the serial number and MAC address of the device into the “Add device” form from the Cloud.   The device’s “site-level configuration inheritance” behavior, mentioned ...
    • How do I assign devices to the Cloud?

      Once you have created a site, you can assign devices to it. 1. Start from the CLOUD MENU 2. Select Devices 3. Click ADD DEVICE 4. Choose the appropriate tab for the device type you plan on adding. 5. Select a site 6. Select the site inheritance ...
    • Site-level configuration inheritance explained

      How does site-level configuration inheritance work? When site-level configuration inheritance is enabled for a device, your device's final configuration will be created by merging two different sets of configurations:  The common site level ...
    • Why was my device's configuration suspended? What does this mean?

      Device configuration suspension means no configurations will be pushed to the device from the Cloud, and no configurations received by the device will be processed by the Cloud. Your device's configuration may become suspended in two cases: Device ...
      Didn't find what you were looking for?
    Or
    Email Us: support@ignitenet.com
    (Please remember to submit TS file)
    (Please note, by clicking 'Create Support Ticket' you will be redirected  to our new Edgecore System Portal, please register your ticket via our Edgecore System as IgniteNet is now part of Edgecore.)