Why was my device's configuration suspended? What does this mean?

Why was my device's configuration suspended? What does this mean?

Device configuration suspension means no configurations will be pushed to the device from the Cloud, and no configurations received by the device will be processed by the Cloud.

Your device's configuration may become suspended in two cases:
  1. Device was downgraded

    As of 2/1/2019, if you downgraded your Cloud-connected device to an older firmware without resetting to defaults,  your device's configuration will automatically be suspended.  The reason for this is because the device's configuration may contain keys or other values that aren't supported, or are incompatible with the older firmware version.  This situation could lead to system errors and undefined behavior. 

    Resolution:
    Reset your device to defaults, and allow it to connect to the Cloud again via re-registration.

  2. A system error has occurred

    Sometimes (very rarely), a system error will occur when the Cloud doesn't understand how to process one or more keys in the configuration sent to it by the device.  

    Resolution:

    A lot of the time, the system error can be cleared out by resetting your device to defaults, and choosing the "Use the device's running config" at re-registration.

    Note: This will clear out any 'bad' cloud-level config keys, but will also clear out any device-level overrides you may have created. 

    If that doesn't work, there isn’t much that can be done here except wait for the support and development teams to investigate the cause of the system error.  Once resolved, an email will be sent out to all cloud account owners and admins notifying them that the device’s config has been unsuspended.  

    • Related Articles

    • Device Registration and Configuration

      Registration A new device can easily be added to a site by inputting (or scanning) the serial number and MAC address of the device into the “Add device” form from the Cloud.   The device’s “site-level configuration inheritance” behavior, mentioned ...
    • How long does it take my device to connect and get its configuration from the Cloud?

      This depends on if you have auto firmware upgrade enabled. If your device doesn't need to be upgraded, this process usually takes under 5 minutes, from start (device registration) to finish (new configuration is running on your device).  If your ...
    • How do I move a device to a new site or cloud?

      Moving a device to a new site You can move a device to a new site in one of two ways: Select the "Move to Site..." option from the device's main menu, or: Select one or more device records from the "devices" page, then from the bulk actions menu, ...
    • How do I remotely reboot my device?

      Follow these steps to reboot a single device: Login to your Cloud and navigate to the dashboard page of the device you'd like to reboot.  (Device menu->Dashboard) Click on the gear icon from the main device menu (located at the top of the page), and ...
    • What happens if I mistakenly send a bad configuration to my devices?

      In the unfortunate event that you send settings to your devices that cause them to lose connectivity (such as disabling all of the ethernet ports, for example), the following will happen: Your device(s) will revert to their previous working ...
      Didn't find what you were looking for?
    Or
    Email Us: support@ignitenet.com
    (Please remember to submit TS file)
    (Please note, by clicking 'Create Support Ticket' you will be redirected  to our new Edgecore System Portal, please register your ticket via our Edgecore System as IgniteNet is now part of Edgecore.)